Residency

I am now in Lithuania undertaking a one month residency. In all honesty I feel very very tired and can’t quite seem to shake this feeling of fatigue. I have only been here a few days so I hope it will shift soon. However, it is good to have so much time to think – though I want to be mindful that I don’t become anxious regarding my work. It is okay to not produce resolved outcomes – I need to remember that. I wanted to write a post that tried to outline what I want to do and explore while I am here.

 

  1. I will spend time with my research material. I want to listen to each record slowly and respond to the content.
  2. I will think about BG in relation to structure – what form of structure does the space in which they inhabit (made to inhabit) make? What kind fo structures do their voice produce? To what extent could they be considered an ambient structure?
  3. I will read Moten’s ‘phonic materiality’ and consider BG via this conception.
  4. I will read Connor’s writing on ventriloquism to think about how TA’s voices are perhaps ‘thrown’ or re-routed onto the bodies and voices of others.
  5. I will work out what I mean by opaque phonics.
  6. I will explore the visuality of BG.

Leave a comment