Compilations

Ace Records: 

Released a number of compilations under the heading ‘Where The Girls Are’ (Vol 1-9). Also have released single label compilations ‘Laurie Records’. It also looks as if Ace will be releasing lyricist comps focusing on figures such as Greenwich and Barry (associated with Aldon music and the Brill Building)

Where The Girls Are:

Vol 1:

WhereTheGirlsAreVolu_383_383

https://acerecords.co.uk/where-the-girls-are-volume-1

Track Listing:

  1. Preview 
    Condition Red – The Goodees
  2. Look In My Diary – Reparata & the Delrons
  3. Don’t Drop Out – Dolly Parton
  4. Little Things Like That – Suzy Wallis
  5. Live And Learn – Joey Heatherton
  6. I’m Thru – Carolyn Carter
  7. Anything Worth Having (Is Well Worth Waitin’ For) – Joan Moody
  8. Love Kitten – Noreen Corcoran
  9. Oo-Wee Baby – Doris Day
  10. Please Don’t Kiss Me Again – The Charmettes
  11. How Much Is That Doggie In The Window? – Baby Jane & The Rockabyes
  12. Your Yah-Yah Is Gone – The Tren-Teens
  13. Hula Hoppin’ – Idalia Boyd
  14. Push A Little Harder – The Avons
  15. That Boy Of Mine – The Sherrys
  16. Young Girl – Charmaine
  17. Sometimes I Wonder – Barbara Brown
  18. What Kind Of Girl (Do You Think I Am) – Erma Franklin
  19. Mixed-Up, Shook-Up Girl – Patty & The Emblems
  20. Who’s That Guy – The Kolettes
  21. A Friend Of Mine – The Geminis
  22. Oh What A Night For Love – The Victorians
  23. Hey There Lonely Boy – Ruby & The Romantics
  24. Lonely Girl – The Lovettes

Vol 2:

WhereTheGirlsAreVol2_383_383

https://acerecords.co.uk/where-the-girls-are-vol-2

Track Listing:

  1. She’s Got Everything – Maxine Brown
  2. To Get Your Love Back – Nella Dodds
  3. Sweet And Lovely – Candy and the Kisses
  4. Happiness Will Only Cost You One Thin Dime – Betty Lavette
  5. Hey, Tell Me Boy – Marie Knight
  6. Let Me Down Easy – The Toys
  7. I’ve Got A Crush On Teacher – The Fawns
  8. You Won’t Be There – The Teardrops
  9. The Change – Ernestine Eady
  10. Whatever Happened To Our Love – Maxine Brown
  11. Looking For Trouble (Alt. Vocal) – The Charmers
  12. Lonesome Native Girl – The Sonnettes
  13. That’s The Way It Goes – Ernestine Eady
  14. Half Deserted Street – Baby Jane and the Rockabyes
  15. He’s A Fink – Silky and the Shantungs
  16. Wishing Well – The Shangri-Las
  17. Bye Bye Baby – Goldie and the Gingerbreads
  18. Voice Of Experience – Tammy Montgomery
  19. Hate To Say I Told You So – The Shangri-Las
  20. Happy Birthday (Wherever You Are) – Baby Jane and the Rockabyes
  21. A Change Of Heart – The Relatives
  22. Dream Boy – Nella Dodds
  23. I Didn’t Mean To Hurt You – The Shirelles
  24. Johnny Drive Me Home – Jackie Hayes
  25. A Groovy Kind Of Love – Diane & Annita
  26. Make The Night A Little Longer – The Shirelles
  27. I’ll Settle For You – Candy and the Kisses
  28. I Love You – The Teardrops
  29. Dark Shadows And Empty Hallways – Diane and Annita
  30. Too Young To Be Fooled – Barbara and Brenda

Vol 3:

WhereTheGirlsAreVol3_383_383

https://acerecords.co.uk/where-the-girls-are-vol-3
  1. Help Me – Mitty Collier
  2. My Mama Told Me – Barbara Carr
  3. Your Kind Of Lovin’ – Jan Bradley
  4. (I’ve Decided On) A Whole New Plan – Jo Ann Garrett
  5. Pushover – Etta James
  6. She’s Got Everything – Sugar Pie De Santo with Joe Hudson’s Band
  7. He’s My Guy Aka Oh No He’s Mine – Margaret & Carol
  8. Just How Much (Can One Heart Take) Aka You Can’t Buy Love – The Kolettes
  9. This Time Tomorrow – Tammy Montgomery
  10. As I Watch You Walk Away – Jean DuShon
  11. How Long (Can I Go On) – The Kittens
  12. He Makes Me Feel So Good – The Gems
  13. You Gave Me Soul – Andrea Davis
  14. Safe And Sound – Fontella Bass
  15. You Really Know How To Hurt A Girl – Jackie Ross
  16. I Let Myself Go – Geraldine Hunt
  17. One Little Thing – Carol Vega
  18. Is It A Sin? – Timiko
  19. Pretty Little Words – Tawney Williams
  20. A Love Of Mine – The Lovettes
  21. Don’t ‘Cha Know – The Lockets
  22. Party Across The Hall – Yvonne Baker & The Sensations
  23. I Just Can’t Help It – The Clickettes
  24. You’re Changing – Mary & The Desirables
  25. Jing Jing A Ling – Honey & The Bees
  26. My Baby’s Real – The Starlets

Vol 4:

WhereTheGirlsAreVol4_383_383-1

https://acerecords.co.uk/where-the-girls-are-vol-4

Track Listing:

  1. Rhapsody – Tamiko
  2. A Groovy Kind Of Love – Patti LaBelle & The Bluebelles
  3. Big Town Boy – Shirley Matthews & The Big Town Girls
  4. Tomorrow Is Another Day – Doris Troy
  5. If He Kissed Me – The Goodnight Kisses
  6. Wise Guys – Shirley Matthews & The Big Town Girls
  7. All Or Nothing – Patti LaBelle & The Bluebelles
  8. Devil In The Dark – The Goodnight Kisses
  9. The Willow Wept – The Heartbreakers
  10. Jimmy Boy – Carol Shaw
  11. My Girlfriend Asked Me – Carole Forrest
  12. Dip-Da-Dip (I Want To Be His Girl) – Angela Martin with The Hash Brown Orchestra
  13. All Of A Sudden My Heart Sings – Darlene Paul
  14. You Had Time – The Heartbreakers
  15. In Paradise – The Cookies
  16. Untrue Love – The Bobbettes
  17. Gossip – The Tiffanys
  18. The Beating Of My Heart – The Dorelles
  19. Everybody Dance – Lydia Marcelle
  20. At The Party – Tami Lynn
  21. Private Property – Shirley Matthews & The Big Town Girls
  22. You’d Better Stop – Doris Troy
  23. Walking In Different Circles – Goldie & The Gingerbreads
  24. Friday Kind Of Monday – The Meantime
  25. Lovin’ Valentine – April Stevens
  26. Teach Me Tiger ’65 – April Stevens

Vol 5:

WhereTheGirlsAreVolu_1_383_383

https://acerecords.co.uk/where-the-girls-are-volume-5
  1. Dressed In Black – The Pussycats
  2. I Want Your Love – The Pussycats
  3. They’re Dancing Now – Patty Michaels
  4. That New Boy In Town – Jan Tanzy
  5. Let The Little Girl Limbo – Doris Day
  6. My Boyfriend – Becky & The Lollipops
  7. One Boy Tells Another – The Surfer Girls
  8. That Boy Is Messing Up My Mind – The Orchids
  9. Marching Home – Tracey Dey
  10. Did You Get Your Fun – The Bootiques
  11. Will You Care What’s Hap’nin’ To Me, Baby – Bernadette Peters
  12. Wonderful World of Love – The Poppies
  13. You’re My Lovin’ Baby – The Sweet Things
  14. Sing Me A Love Song – The Glories
  15. Gonna Make Him My Baby – April Young
  16. Friends And Lovers Forever – Nancy Ames
  17. The Harlem Tango – The Orchids
  18. Takin’ That Long Walk Home – Dorothy Jones
  19. It’s Love That Really Counts (In The Long Run) – Marlina Mars
  20. Sweet Bitter Love – Aretha Franklin
  21. You Can’t Hurt Me No More – The Opals
  22. The Right To Cry – Erma Franklin
  23. Love Made To Order – The Little Foxes
  24. Baby You’re Mine – Sandi Sheldon
  25. Wasn’t It You – Peggy Lipton
  26. Spanish Harlem – Laura Nyro and Labelle

Vol 6:

WhereTheGirlsAreVolu_2_383_383

https://acerecords.co.uk/where-the-girls-are-volume-6
  1. Lost – The Darlettes
  2. (Make It Last) Take Your Time – Barbara Mills
  3. Little Baby – Kathy Lynn & the Playboys
  4. I Have Feelings Too – Denita James
  5. Hang It Up – Joy Dawn
  6. The Greatest – The Percells
  7. He’s My Special Boy – Kathy Lynn & the Playboys
  8. Walkin’ My Baby – Sue Thompson
  9. Walk Tall (Like A Man) – The 2 Of Clubs
  10. No More Tears – The Sweethearts
  11. Sugar Plum (Give Me Some) – Little Eva
  12. Cupid’s Got A Hold On Me – The Belles
  13. Yes I Know – The Ladybirds
  14. Whoa Whoa Baby Take It Slow – Tutti Hill
  15. Every Boy And Every Girl – The Chiffons
  16. I’m Not Gonna Worry (‘Cause I Know He’s Mine) – The Cinnamons
  17. That’s No Way To Spend My Time – The Pen-etts
  18. My Imaginary Guy – Deanie Parker & the Valadors
  19. Big Time Operator – Joan Mood
  20. Captured By Your Love – Felice Taylor
  21. He’s So Fine – Beverly Warren
  22. Lonely Little Beach Girl – Carol Connors
  23. He Belongs To Me – Carol Connors
  24. Why Do Lovers Break Each Other’s Heart? – Reparata
  25. I Can’t Hear You (No More Baby) – Pat Powdrill
  26. Jilted – The Goodees

 

Vol 7:

WhereTheGirlsAreVolu_3_383_383

https://acerecords.co.uk/where-the-girls-are-volume-7

Track Listing:

  1. Tears Come Tumbling – The Teardrops
  2. Earthquake – The Fashionettes
  3. How Fine Can One Guy Be – The Jelly Beans
  4. He’s My Boyfriend – Kriss Anderson
  5. Trouble Child – Barbara Mason & The Tiffanys
  6. Sally Bad – The Utopias
  7. His Lips Get In The Way – Joani Camp
  8. Too Bad He’s Bad – Beverly Williams
  9. My Sailor Boy – The Zippers
  10. I Found Me A Lover – The Lovelites
  11. Is It Love Baby? – The Tandels
  12. Cry Behind The Daisies (Demo Version) – The Jaynetts
  13. Your Kind Ain’t No Good – The Mirettes
  14. You’re Welcome Back – Ann Hodge
  15. Hands Off – The Azaleas
  16. Constant Love – Brenda Holloway
  17. Smokie Joe’s – The Jewels
  18. What Is Love? – The Shirelles
  19. The Doolang – Andrea Carroll
  20. Party Lights (Double-tracked Version) – Claudine Clark
  21. Moon Out There – The Puffs
  22. The Doorbell Rings – Marry Clayton
  23. Where Have All The Boys Gone – The Penny Sisters
  24. That Boy Of Mine – The Sparkels
  25. Woman In Love (With You) – The Satisfactions
  26. Get Me To The Church On Time – Baby Jane & The Rockabyes

 

Vol 8:

CDCHKD-1376_383_383

https://acerecords.co.uk/where-the-girls-are-volume-8

Track Listing:

  1. Cry Like A Baby – The Blossoms
  2. I Ain’t Coming Back – The Orleans
  3. No No Baby – The Sherrys
  4. (Whoa, Whoa) I Love Him So – Nikki Blu
  5. Gotta Have Your Love – The Sapphires
  6. Deeper – Sandy Borden
  7. Gee But He’s Fine – The Four Havens
  8. Heart For Sale – The Fran-Cettes
  9. Comin’ Home Baby – Dee Dee Sharp
  10. Pack My Things (And Go) – Jan Bradley
  11. I Wanna Know Right Now – Carol Slade
  12. My Baby Looks, But He Don’t Touch – Carol Connors
  13. What About You – Charlotte O’Hara
  14. You Don’t Have A Heart – The Bunnies
  15. Why Don’t The Boy Leave Me Alone – Diane Christian
  16. Let’s Be Sweethearts – The Cinnamon Angels
  17. My Heart Tells Me So – The Del-Phis
  18. Stickin’ With My Baby – Kendra Spotswood
  19. Baby It Hurts – Kelly Garrett
  20. Ya Gotta Take A Chance – The Bonnets
  21. Stand By Me – Little Eva
  22. That’s My Man – Ravita Marcell
  23. My Little Baby – The Witches
  24. I Still Like Rock And Roll – The Darlenes
  25. Come On And Ska – The Pussycats

 

Vol 9:

wtga9_72dpi_383_383

https://acerecords.co.uk/where-the-girls-are-volume-9

Track Listing:

  1. That’s The Way It Is (When A Girl’s In Love) – The Sweet Three
  2. Society Girl – The Rag Dolls
  3. Little Boy – Diane Christian
  4. I Don’t Want To Be Your Baby Anymore – The Popsicles
  5. What A Lonely Way To Start The Summertime – The Bitter Sweets
  6. Something Strange Is Going On – Roddie Joy
  7. Billy Sunshine – Evie Sands
  8. Come Down – Honey Ltd
  9. With A Kiss – The Bluezettes
  10. Don’t Forget – The Murmaids
  11. I Can Tell (I’m Losing Your Love) – Lena Calhoun & The Emotions
  12. You Better Stop It – The Lovelites
  13. I’ll Come Running Over – 2 Of Clubs
  14. Mama Don’t Allow – Reparata & The Delrons
  15. Ballyhoo – Ramona King
  16. Who Stole The Cookie – The Jaynetts
  17. Young Daddy – The Francettes
  18. I Need A Boy – The Penny Sisters
  19. (They Call Him A) Bad Boy – Christine Cooper
  20. What Did You Do Last Night – The Drake Sisters
  21. Baby I Miss You – The Popsicles
  22. On A Rainy Night – The Flowers
  23. Sweet Kind Of Loneliness – The Darlettes
  24. More Than A Friend – The Wooden Nickels
  25. Moon Walking – The Blossoms with Billy Strange

 

Girl Zone:

Vinyl Only compilation.

ACE-GirlZone-Front-7_383_383

Track listing:

Side 1

  1. Panic – Reparata & the Delrons
  2. Louie Louie – The Angels
  3. Here She Comes – The Darlettes
  4. Here Comes Loneliness – The Teardrops
  5. It’s All In The Way (You Look At It Baby) – Mousie & The Traps
  6. Smoke From Your Cigarette – The Drake Sisters

Side 2

  1. Losin’ Control – The Fashionettes
  2. I Idolize You – The Charmaines
  3. Backfield In Motion – The Angelos
  4. Together Forever – Pat Powdrill & The Powerdrills
  5. I’ve Got A Story To Tell You – The Kavetts
  6. Camel Walk – The Ikettes

 

RHINO RECORDS:

Girl Group Sounds: One Kiss Can Lead to Another

Comes in 4 CD’s. Present in a hat box

Disc: 1

  1. A Taste Of Honey – The Velvelettes
  2. He’s Got The Power – The Exciters
  3. Nobody Know What’s Goin’ On (In My Mind But Me) – The Chiffons
  4. I’d Much Rather Be With The Girls – Donna Lynn
  5. Keep Your Hands Off My Baby – Little Eva
  6. Nothing But A Heartache – The Flirtations
  7. You Don’T Know Me – Ellie Greenwich
  8. Boys – The Shirelles
  9. Big Bad World – Cathy Saint
  10. Out In The Streets – The Shangri-Las
  11. Is It True – Brenda Lee
  12. Please Don’T Wake Me – The Cinderellas
  13. I’ll Keep Holding On – The Marvelettes
  14. Oh No Not My Baby – Maxine Brown
  15. May My Heart Be Cast Into Stone – The Toys
  16. Magic Garden – Dusty Springfield
  17. I Never Dreamed – The Cookies
  18. He’s A Bad Boy – Carole King
  19. Happy, That’s Me – Little Frankie
  20. Dream Boy – Jackie DeShannon
  21. Try The Worryin’ Way – The Fabulettes
  22. I Can’t Let Go – Evie Sands
  23. Go Now – Bessie Banks
  24. You’re No Good – Dee Dee Warwick
  25. Opportunity – Jewels
  26. Life And Soul Of The Party – Mally Page
  27. Break-A-Way – Irma Thomas
  28. What Am I Gonna Do With You – Lesley Gore
  29. He Did It – The Ronettes
  30. Baby That’s Me – The Cake

 

Disc: 2

  1. I Adore Him – The Angels
  2. Aqui, Oh! (Check This Out) – The Shangri-Las
  3. Please Go Away – The Shirelles
  4. Let Me Get Close To You – Skeeter Davis
  5. I Have A Boyfriend – The Chiffons
  6. I’m Into Somethin’ Good – Earl-Jean
  7. I’ll Come Running – Lulu
  8. If There’s Anything Else You Want (Let Me Know) – Roddie Joy
  9. When The Lovelight Starts Shining Through His Eyes – The Supremes
  10. It Comes And Goes – Sadina
  11. Baby, Baby (I Still Love You) – The Cinderellas
  12. Girl Don’t Come – Sandie Shaw
  13. That’s When The Tears Start – The Blossoms
  14. What A Lonely Way To Start The Summertime – Bitter Sweets
  15. Don’t Drop Out – Dolly Parton
  16. The One You Can’t Have – THE HONEYS
  17. I’m Nobody’s Baby Now – Reparata & The Delrons With Hash Brown And His Orchestra
  18. You’re So Fine – Dorothy Berry
  19. When You’re Young And In Love – Ruby And The Romantics
  20. My One And Only, Jimmy Boy – The Girlfriends
  21. A Friend Of Mine – The Geminis
  22. Chico’s Girl – The Girls
  23. Cause I Love Him – Alder Ray
  24. Bye Bye Baby – Mary Wells
  25. The First Cut Is The Deepest – P.P. Arnold
  26. I Won’t Tell – Tracey Dey
  27. Egyptian Shumba – The Tammys
  28. I Sold My Heart To The Junkman – The Starlets
  29. Walking In Different Circles – Goldie And The Gingerbreads
  30. The Hideaway – The Young Generation

 

Disc: 3

  1. The Trouble With Boys – Little Eva
  2. Lookin’ For Boys – The Pin-Ups
  3. Dream Baby – Cher
  4. Condition Red – The Goodees
  5. Should I Cry (Alternate Take) – Jackie DeShannon
  6. I’m Blue (The Gong-Gong Song) – The Ikettes
  7. I’ve Been Wrong Before – Cilla Black With George Martin’s Orchestra
  8. Love’s Gone Bad – Chris Clark
  9. Nightmare – The Whyte Boots
  10. She Don’t Deserve You – The Honey Bees
  11. Will You Be My Love – The Four J’s
  12. Take Me For A Little While – Evie Sands
  13. Funnel Of Love – Wanda Jackson
  14. I’M Gonna Destroy That Boy – The What Four
  15. Terry – Twinkle
  16. Untrue Unfaithful (That Was You) – Nita Rossi
  17. Sophisticated Boom Boom – The Goodies
  18. Saturday Night Didn’t Happen – Reparata & The Dedrons
  19. Don’t Ever Leave Me – Connie Francis
  20. Don’t Forget About Me – Barbara Lewis
  21. Wanna Make Him Mine – The Emeralds
  22. Only To Other People – The Cookies
  23. Big-Town Boy – Shirley Matthews And The Bigtown Girls
  24. Daddy You Gotta Let Him In – The Satisfactions
  25. After Last Night – The Rev-lons
  26. How Can I Tell My Mom & Dad – The Lovelites
  27. Too Hurt To Cry, Too Much In Love To Say Goodbye – The Darnells
  28. Up Down Sue – Luv’d Ones
  29. When I Think Of You – Twiggy
  30. Good, Good Lovin’ – The Blossoms

 

Disc: 4

  1. When The Boy’s Happy (The Girl’s Happy Too) – Four Pennies
  2. Don’t Drag No More – Susan Lynne
  3. I’m Afraid They’re All Talking About Me – Dawn
  4. That’s How It Goes – The Breakaways
  5. Some Of Your Lovin’ – The Honey Bees
  6. Peanut Duck – Marsha* Gee
  7. Thank Goodness For The Rain – Peanut
  8. Steady Boyfriend – April Young
  9. He Was Really Sayin’ Somethin’ – The Velvelettes
  10. I Know You Love Me Not – Julie Driscoll
  11. Whatever Happened To Our Love – Maxine Brown
  12. Heart – Petula Clark
  13. I Can’t Give Back The Love I Feel For You – Syreeta Wright
  14. He Makes Me So Mad – Hollywood Jills
  15. I Can’t Wait Until I See My Baby’s Face – Dusty Springfield
  16. Crying In The Rain – Carole King
  17. We Don’t Belong – Sylvan
  18. You Don’t Love Me No More – Madeline Bell
  19. Hey, Tell Me Boy – Marie Knight
  20. Brink Of Disaster – Lesley Gore
  21. Who Do You Love – The Sapphires
  22. I’m 28 – Toni Basil
  23. They Never Taught That In School – Gayle Harris
  24. Dressed In Black – The Pussycats
  25. Ain’t Gonna Kiss Ya – The Ribbons
  26. Every Little Bit Hurts (Del-Fi Version) – Brenda Holloway
  27. Mister Loveman – Yvonne Carroll
  28. Make The Night A Little Longer – The Palisades
  29. Mixed Up, Shook Up, Girl (Live) – Patty & The Emblems
  30. Good Night Baby – The Butterflys
